20 Feb

Lawsuit over McDonald’s french fries

At least three lawsuits have been filed against McDonald’s Corp. over ingredients in its french fries. McDonald’s website previous indicated that the french fries were free of gluten and milk or wheat allergens. The site now states “contains wheat and milk ingredients” after the company disclosed that the fries include natural flavoring which includes extracts from wheat and dairy products. McDonald’s maintains, however, that the extracts are processed in a way that removes the proteins which are believed to be responsible for allergic reactions.

The lawsuits have been filed by two plaintiffs with intolerance to gluten, a protein found in wheat. The third plaintiff filing a lawsuit is a vegan who eats no animal products.

Leave a Reply